Connecticut Wrestling Online
History home
'05 standings
This page was last updated on: November 9, 2005
Contact us
e-mail me
Connecticut Sports Online
Copyright 2005, Collinsville Publishing Company
2004-05 All-State banquet
2005 Academic All-State
2005 All-State
2005 Coach of the Year
2005 Assistant coach of the year

Coach of the year awards
Class LL: Ricky Shook, Danbury
Class L: Steve Bilheimer, Ledyard
Class M: Chris Gamble, Waterford
Class S: Darek Schibi, Northwestern

Assistant coach of the year awards
Class LL: Steve Kaplanis, Danbury
Class L: Mike Heuschneider, Ledyard
Class M: Steve Welch, Waterford
Class S:  Devin Schibi, Northwestern

Academic All-State
Wrestlers receving Academic All-State honors have:
placed in the top 6 in Class LL, L, M or S tournaments,
average at least 85 in the previous marking period and have no grade lower than a B (80 percent),
maintained highest level of behavioral discipline in eyes of the school's administration.

Class LL Academic All-State
Michael Battinelli, Stamford (103)
Peter Stefanatos, New Milford (130)
Thomas Ferrell, New Milford (275)
Jamie Pisano, New Milford (145)
Michael Bellagamba, New Milford (135)
Derek Waldron, NFA (145)
Justin Toland, NFA (152)
Gabe Ouellette, NFA (160)
David Johnson, NFA (215)
Jeff Marra, Danbury (145)
George Madkour, Danbury (119)
Tyler Howe, Danbury (112)
Frank Cammisa, Danbury (135)
Anthony Parrish, Fairfield Warde (189)
Brendan Herlihy, Fairfield Warde (275)
Zack Wagner, Fairfield Warde (160)
Max Connolly, Southington (215)
Greg Fontaine, Southington (103)
Anthony Valles, South Windsor (103)
Tyler LeBlanc, East Hartford (145)
Timothy Holmes, East Hartford (119)
Jason Sandler, Weston/Barlow (189)

Class L Academic All-State
Daniel Mingrino, Platt (171)
Fielding Pagel, Fitch (171)
Jonathan Wenderoth, Fitch (145)
Colin Gibson, East Lyme (135)
Alex Blank, Ridgefield (103)
Corey Paulish, Ridgefield (112)
Kyle Nuland, Ridgefield (160)
Brendan Cleary, Ridgefield (135)
Luke Raithel, Ridgefield (125)
Alex Helbling, Branford (119)
Steve Travaglino, Branford (215)
Tim Steamer, East Lyme
Ryan Garrity, Fermi (112)
Christopher Dryburgh, Fermi (171)
John Ragno, Fermi (189)
Morgan Wanzer, Fermi (275)
Steven Nelson, Montville (140)
Robert Rahusen, Montville (135)
Joshua Go, Montville (103)
Mike Fiorini, Bristol Central (140)
Christopher Lombardi, Bris. Cntrl (103)
Matt Dabrowski, Bristol Central (189)
Kyle Dess, Bristol Central (119)
Chris Scoppetta, Bristol Eastern (215)
Daniel Strong, Bristol Eastern (160)
Italo Marino, Bristol Eastern (171)
Corey Zadrozny, Bristol Eastern (125)
Mathew Zheng, Windsor
Dylan Eldridge, New Canaan (140)
Tim Murphy, Farmington (215)
John Krause, Farmington (130)
Daniel Makowicki, Bunnell (130)

Class M Academic All-State
John Fiorillo, Berlin (125)
Dave Fiorillo, Berlin (135)
Nick Catalano, Berlin (145)
Jon Berry, Darien (152)
Bill Haire, Darien (189)
Nick Spinnato, Hand (130)
Jay Mahoney, Hand (103)
Mario Acquarullo, Hand (125)
Sam Cox, Bacon Academy (152)
Bran Crudden, Windham (160)
Nick Palermo, Bethel (125)
Brennan Ward, Waterford (119)
Sean Adkins, Waterford (145)
Michael Gorton, Waterford (152)
David Loomis, Killingly (171)
Richard Meahan, Foran (189)
Jared Czarneski, Foran (140)
Justin Kristie, Foran (119)

Class S Academic All-State
Ryan Van Nostrand, Granby (140)
Andrew Dahlman, Granby (145)
Chris Nadeau, Granby (160)
Nicholas Watson, Granby (135)
Tyler Banks, Griswold (103)
Sam Wilcox, Griswold (119)
Sean Fisher, Griswold (135)
James Gladue, Griswold (140)
Ted Banks, Griswold (160)
Nathan Shippee, East Catholic (189)
Dylan Henderson, Portland (275)
Louis Piscattano, Somers (103)
Alexander Gebhart, Somers (119)
Adam Rivard, Somers (145)
Nicholas Pantuosco, Somers (125)
Casey Yates, Lyman Memorial (125)
Mike Delmastro, Lyman Memorial (130)
Scott Boyle, Lyman Memorial (135)
Pat Dunn, Lyman Memorial (189)
John-Paul Roesler, Saint Bernard (140)
Travis Caouette, Ellington (112)
Tucker Grass, Morgan (112)
Brian Ritchie, Morgan (140)
Ben Lane, Morgan (160)
Brian Cramer, Morgan (171)
Kevin Hylan, Morgan (189)
Kyle Kiaunis, Morgan (215)
Tom Izzo, Derby (275)

2005 State Open champions
103: Anthony Valles, South Windsor
112: Ken Fratus, Waterford
119: Joey Martin, Simsbury
125: T.J. Hepburn, Ledyard
130: Joel Webster, NW Regional
135: Frank Cammisa, Danbury
140: Jared Czarneski, Foran
145: Kurtis Strout, Windham
152: Chris Marks, NW Regional
160: Bran Crudden, Windham
171: Matt Tricarico, Danbury
189: Anthony Parrish, Fair. Warde
215: Shawn Karasevicz, Waterford
275: Brendan Herlihy, Fair. Warde

2005 Class S All-State 
103: Tim Mandel, Northwestern
112: Tucker Grass, Morgan
119: Andrew Jackson, Holy Cross
125: Greg Martel, Stafford
130: Joel Webster, Northwestern
135: Jeff Haddad, Old Saybrook
140: James Gladue, Griswold
145: James Chapman, Griswold
152: Chris Marks, Northwestern
160: Ted Banks, Griswold
171: Aaron Weinhofer, Plainville
189: Billy Williams, Windham Tech
215: Nick Jubrey, Suffield
275: Thomas Izzo, Derby

2005 Class M All-State
103: Jay Mahoney, Hand
112: Ken Fratus, Waterford
119: Trevor Olmstead, RHAM
125: Nick Palermo, Bethel
130: Zeth Nolda, Waterford
135: Sam Gauvine, Enfield
140: Jared Czarneski, Foran-Milford
145: Kurtis Strout, Windham
152: Jim Solek, Berlin
160: Bran Crudden, Windham
171: Luis Gomez, Hartford Public
189: Billy Haire, Darien
215: Shawn Karasevicz, Waterford
275: Tracey Deleston, Cheney Tech

2005 Class L All-State
103: Chris Lombardi, Bristol Central
112: Shawn McKenna, Pomperaug
119: William Heuschneider, Ledyard
125: T.J. Hepburn, Ledyard
130: Justin Dess, Bristol Eastern
135: Joey Bullard, Warren Harding
140: Mike Fiorini, Bristol Central
145: Justin Dodge, East Haven
152: MIke Caleca, Pomperaug
160: Daniel Strong, Bristol Eastern
171: Fielding Pagel, Fitch
189: John Ragno, Fermi-Enfield
215: Tim Murphy, Farmington
275: Willie Brown, Maloney-Meriden

2005 Class LL All-State
103: Anthony Valles, So. Windsor
112: Tyler Howe, Danbury
119: Joey Martin, Simsbury
125: Kevin Horan, Newington
130: Nick Weyer, Danbury
135: Frank Cammissa, Danbury
140: Kyle Rodgers, Danbury
145: Jeff Marra, Danbury
152: Andy Liseo, Southington
160: William Esposito, Danbury
171: Matt Tricarico, Danbury
189: Anthony Parrish, Fair. Warde
215: Dave Bernstein, Fairfield Prep
275: Brendan Herlihy, Fair. Warde
Connecticut Wrestling Online
SOUTHINGTON, March 20 – Simsbury junior Joey Martin, who had to beat two defending champions to win the New England championship at 119 pounds, was named at the Connecticut wrestler of the year by the Connecticut High School Coaches Association’s (CHSCA) annual All-State and Academic All-State wrestling banquet.

Martin, a three-time Class LL and State Open champion, beat Lowell’s Casey Boyle to win a New England title. He went 49-0 this winter and is 145-2 in his career.

The coaching staffs from state champion Danbury (Class LL), Ledyard (Class L), Waterford (Class M) and Northwestern (Class S) were honored as head coach and assistant coaches of the year.

One hundred athletes were honored on the Academic All-State teams with Fairfield Warde’s Anthony Parrish (189), Brendan Herlihy (275) and Zack Wagner (160) each earning Academic All-State honors for the third straight year. No awards were presented this year for contributors or sportswriter of the year.

Martin named wrestler of the year