Connecticut Wrestling Online
Contact us
e-mail me
Connecticut Sports Online
Copyright 2002, Collinsville Publishing Company
2001-02 All-State selections
The story
2002 Academic All-State wrestling team
Class LL
Peter Shreckengast, Conard
William St. Pierre, Southington
Jefferey Fontaine, Southington
Pat Newkirk, NFA
Josh Murphy, NFA
Mike Cobb, Bridgeport Central
Jeff Marra, Danbury
Chris Kaplanis, Danbury
Dominic DiScala, Fairfield
Max Pazdan, Fairfield

Class L
Chris Lovell, Fermi
Amir Kearney, New Milford
Victor Lawrence, Ledyard
Curtis Smith, Ledyard
Justin Mattern, Rockville
Ben Gardiner, Rockville
Andrew Reinell, Berlin
Derek Aivano, Berlin
B.J. Madey, Berlin
William Aust, Berlin
Josh Feldman, Pomperaug
Christopher Gibson, East Lyme
Chris Coppolo, Fitch
J.P. Gilbert, Fitch
Justin Gilbert,Killingly

Class M
Nick Miragliuolo, Woodstock Academy
Kyle Hightower, Waterford
Kevin Gaughan, New Milford
Kevin Gogan, New Fairfield
James Therrien, Killingly
Eamon McLaughlin, Killingly
Justin Gilbert, Killingly
Doug Milburn, Bethel

Class S
Ryan Caplet, Lyman Memorial
Kevin Cook, Nonnewaug
Brian Johanns, East Catholic
Jim Galvin, Terryville
Will Kowalski, Bacon Academy
Eric Ryan Murphy, New London
Ramel Murphy, New London
Aaron Cramer, Morgan
Steve Dombrowski, Gilbert
Evan Vold, Gilbert
Adam Frelich, Avon
Josh Kaplan, Canton
Mike Grafstein, Canton

2001-02 state awards
Coach of the year
Ted Oczkowski, Bridgeport Central

Assistant coach of the year
Gary Tilbe, Danbury

Wrestler of the year
Lee Mannion, Fairfield High

Special Recognition
Mike Quibble, Ledyard, chairman, USA Wrestling Connecticut chapter

Sportswriter of the year
Gerry deSimas, Jr., freelance writer/Connecticut Wrestling Online

2001-02 Divisional awards
Head coach of the year
Class LL: Ted Oczkowski, Bridgeport Central
Class L : Mark Kosman, Fitch
Class M:  Rich Bowen, Killingly
Class S:  Walter Jadach, Derby

Assistant coach of the year
Class LL:  Gary Tilbe, Danbury
Class L:  Pat Burns, New Milford
Class M:  Tony Maniscaico, Bethel
Class S : Jeff Collins, Derby

2001-02 All-State wrestlers
Jesse Cavallaro, Plainville, 103
Trevor Brown, RHAM, 112
Luis Murillo, Platt , 119
Jeff Oldham, Bethel, 125
Anthony Hayes, Danbury, 130
Lee Mannion, Fairfield, 135
Anthony Corvino, Stratford, 140
Jason Pagan, NFA, 145
Dennis Stone, Danbury, 152
Larry Liseo, Southington, 160
Brett Scholnick, Hand-Madison, 171
Adam Karasevicz, Waterford, 189
Andy Palmermo, Bethel, 215
John Sullivan, Greenwich, 275

Nick Weyer, Danbury, 103
Phil Young, Danbury, 112
Pat Newkirk, NFA, 119
Favio Delabrena, Fairfield, 125
Anthony Hayes, Danbury, 130
Lee Mannion, Fairfield, 135
Carlos Valenzuela, Danbury, 140
Jason Pagan, NFA, 145
Dennis Stone, Danbury, 152
Dan Taylor, Greenwich, 160
Karl Higbie, Greenwich, 171
Max Pazdan, Fairfield, 189
Wigberto Diaz, Bridgeport Central, 215
John Sullivan, Greenwich, 275

Sloan Holzman, Staples, 103
Luis Espinoza, Harding, 112
Josh Feldman, Pomperaug, 119
Chris Coppolo, Fitch, 125
J.P. Gilbert, Fitch, 130
Billy Leischner, Fitch, 135
Sean Caselli, New Milford, 140
Paul Cicaraella, East Haven, 145
Justin Giarnella, Berlin, 152
Will Deveau, Fitch, 160
Jim Punkunus, Berlin, 171
Jay Leckey, Guilford, 189
Will Ross, Fitch, 215
Jerrid Ballard, Brien McMahon, 275

Jesse Cavallaro, Plainville, 103
Trevor Brown, RHAM, 112
Luis Murillo, Platt, 119
Vito Barbagallo, Plainville, 125
Kevin Gaughan, New Fairfield, 130
Doug Milburn, Bethel, 135
Anthony Corvino, Stratford, 140
Greg Dussol, RHAM, 145
Bryan Hawes, Windham High, 152
Kevin Davis, RHAM, 160
Brett Scholnick, Hand, 171
Adam Karasevicz, Waterford, 185
Andy Palmero, Bethel, 215
L.J. Spinnato, Hand, 275

Jason Vermes, East Windsor, 103
Miquel Pagan, New London, 112
Tony Nguyen, Rocky Hill, 119
Rob Tolk, Avon, 125
Ryan Stefancin, Derby, 130
Ramel Murphy, New London, 135
Josh Kaplan, Canton, 140
Dave Stec, Derby, 145
Devin Schibi, Gilbert, 152
Chris Gebbie, Lyman Memorial, 160
Julien Harrigan, New London, 171
Bill McCollum, St. Bernard's, 189
Aaron Cramer, Morgan, 215
Brian Dubiel, Avon, 275

The 8th annual Connecticut High School Wrestling Coaches Association All-State banquet.
All-State wrestlers
Coach of the year
Assistant coach of the year
Sportswriter of the year
Special recognition
Mannion named top wrestler in the state
Bridgeport Central's Oczkowski honored
as top coach in 2002
SOUTHINGTON, March 17, 2002 -- Fairfield High's Lee Mannion was named wrestler of the year at the eight annual Connecticut High School Wrestling Coaches Association (CHSWCA) All-State banquet Sunday in Southington.

The CHSWCA All-State and Academic All-State teams were also released.

Mannion (145) rolled through the Connecticut season with a 43-0 record, winning his first State Open championship and earning his second straight Class LL championship. Mannion took third in the New England Tournament, finishing his season at 48-1.

In three short seasons, Bridgeport Central head coach Ted Oczkowski had built his Hilltoppers into a top-notch program.

Oczkowski, who was named Connecticut coach of the year, has led BC to a combined record of 69-27-1 including a record of 32-1 and fourth in the Class LL championships this year.

Bridgeport Central and Southington both set a new state record for the most dual meet victories in the same season. Central finished the year with 32 wins in a row after dropping its season-opening match to Danbury.

Danbury's Gary Tilbe was named the top assistant coach of the year while Mike Quibble of Ledyard received the special recognition award. Quibble is chairman of USA Wrestling in Connecticut.

Gerry deSimas, Jr., editor of Connecticut Wrestling Online and a freelance sports writer, was named the state sportswriter of the year.

His work can be seen in the Waterbury Republican-American, New Britain Herald and Farmington Valley Post along with Connecticut Wrestling Online, which debuted in January 2001.