Connecticut Wrestling Online

This page was last updated on: November 6, 2003

Copyright 2003, Collinsville Publishing Company
2003 Class S wrestling tournament
2003 Class S
At Colchester
Team results  1. Montville 179, 2. Morgan 167, 3. St.Bernard 161, 4. Nonnewaug 156, 5. Avon 150.5, 6. Rocky Hill 139, 7. Stafford 107.5, 8. Derby 96.5, 9.Griswold 82.5, 10. Thomaston and Northwestern Regional 77.5, 12. Canton 74, 13. East Windsor 73.5, 14. Terryville 68, 15. Bacon Academy 64.5, 16. Windham Tech 59.5, 17. Granby 59, 18. East Catholic 56, 19. Portland 49, 20. New London 40.5, 21. Suffield 40, 22. Gilbert 39, 23. Tolland 28.5, 24. Housatonic 26, 25. Lyman Memorial 21.5, 26. Old Saybrook 16, 27. Lewis Mills 13, 28. Somers 6, 29. Coventry 5, 30. Wamogo 4,31. Litchfield 0

Individual results
103  Final: Seby Lara (Avon) dec. J.J. Daly (St. Bernard), 5-1 ; 3. David Brummert (Canton) dec. Tucker Grass (Morgan), 13-2; 5. Edward Marshall (Old Saybrook) dec. Matthew Brett (Northwestern), 1-0
112  Final: Jason Vermes (East Windsor) dec. Evan Vold (Gilbert), 16-5; 3. Willie Rivera (Windham Tech) win by default over Joe Kelly (St. Bernard); 5. Andrew Skronski (Derby) pin Cory Lass (Terryville), 2:16
119  Final: Tony Nguyen (Rocky Hill) pin Marvin Meyer (Morgan), 3:13; 3. Nicholas Wilson (Montville) dec. Jim Galvin (Terryville), 9-6; 5. Reed Timme (Avon) dec. Jeff Haddad (Stafford), 7-1
125  Final: Joel Webster (Northwestern) dec. Kostas Hatzikostas (Nonnewaug), 11-3; 3. Jose Rivera (Derby) dec. Adam Freilich (Avon), 4-2; 5. Jeremy Metzig (Morgan) dec. Keiran Komarinetz (St. Bernard), 12-3
130  Final: Ryan Murphy (New London) dec. Rob Tolk (Avon), 11-7;  3. Jeremy Pavlik (Nonnewaug) dec. Josh Bristol (Canton), 10-2; 5. Greg Hom (Lewis Mills) dec. Nate Wierzbicki (East Catholic), 9-5
135  Final: Erik Delehanty (Morgan) dec. Daniel Dodge (Montville), 9-1; 3. Eric Rivera (Windham Tech) dec. John Webb (St. Bernard),.13-0; 5. Nicholas Jorge (Griswold) dec. Nicholas Cascone (East Windsor), 7-3
140  Final: Bernie Cunningham (Tolland) dec. Loxley Walters (Rocky Hill), 6-4; 3. Grayson Glover (Nonnewaug) dec. James Stanley (Griswold), 8-4; 5. Chris St. Louis (St. Bernard) .
145  Final: Dave Iaquinto (Morgan) dec. Bryan Howard (Montville), 3-2; 3. Mike Fuller (Stafford) dec. Rick Markey (Thomaston), 9-6; 5. Colby Johnstone (Suffield) dec. Robert DeJoseph (Nonnewaug), 10-0
152  Final: Daniel Murphy (Montville) pin Chris Marks (Northwestern), 1:48; 3. Conor Comiskey (Morgan) dec. Corey Patrick (Nonnewaug), 6-4; 5. Nick Wild (Terryville) pin Mo Osman (Rocky Hill), 0:59
160  Final: Josh Veguilla (Stafford) pin Alex Rice (Thomaston), 1:28; 3. Dan Maselli (Rocky Hill) dec. Andy Waller (Nonnewaug), 9-2; 5. Ryan Booth (Portland) dec. Joshua Morey (Housatonic), 3-0
171  Final: Lucas Roesler (St. Bernard) dec. Brian Johanns (East Catholic), 3-1; 3. Frank Blinn (Morgan) win by default Paul Buccheri (Rocky Hill); 5. Peter Oskara (East Windsor) dec. Dan Jamison (Avon), 2-1
189  Final: Ryan Walsh (Avon) dec. Thomas Kruszewski (Montville), 7-5; 3. Chris Rossi (Suffield) pin Anthony Pellegrini (Griswold), 4:44; 5. Billy Williams (Windham Tech) dec. Mike Sanders (Rocky Hill), 5-2
215  Final: Rick LaGrega (Bacon Academy) pin Michael Mulroy (Derby), 3:34; 3. Ryan Gasuk (Rocky Hill) dec. Kelvin Valencia (Canton), 9-8; 5. Nicholas Venn (Granby) dec. Mike Demusis (Morgan), 6-3
275  Final: Chris Sullivan (St. Bernard) pin Matthew Morgan (Montville), 5:45; 3. Aaron Cardenas (Granby) pin Sam Newsom (Portland), 1:49; 5. Justin McCarty (Bacon Academy) dec. Andy Dohan (Nonnewaug), 12-1
Outstanding wrestler: Ryan Murphy (New London, 130 pounds)
Fast fall award: Tony Pellegrini, Griswold, 4 pins in 7:27

Stories & results
Connecticut Wrestling Online
COLCHESTER, Feb. 16, 2003 -- In Class S circles, they are sometimes the forgotten team. Seldom, do they face Class S opponents but that is not by choice. Few schools want to tangle with Montville High.

The Indians, who have been homeless for the past two years due to a fire in their gym, wrestle in the white-hot Eastern Connecticut Conference buried under an avalanche of top 10 teams. Killingly, Windham High, Waterford all finished the regular season ranked in the top 10 and St. Bernard was ranked 13th.

Montville finished eighth in last week's ECC Tournament and was fourth in the ECC's Small Division.

However, the Indians made everyone take notice Saturday in the Class S championships. Montville placed five wrestlers in the finals and held off Morgan-Clinton to win its first state title since 1988 with a 179-167 win over the Huskies at Bacon Academy.

Sixth-seeded Dan Murphy (152) was the lone Montville wrestler to win a state title but No. 7 seed Nicholas Wilson (119) finished third at 119 and 10 of the 12 wrestlers competing in the tournament for the Indians won at least one match.

"Our kids did a great job' Montville coach Gary Wilcox said. "We wrestle one of the toughest schedules around and we have worked hard to get where we are today."

At the beginning of the season, Montville had an inkling that Dan Dodge (125), Bryan Howard (145), Murphy (152), Thomas Kruszewski (189) and Matt Morgan (275) could earn spots in the finals. But the rest of the team contributed as well.

"They helped by working hard in practice," Wilcox said. "A lot of freshmen helped keep those seniors and juniors going. It was an all-out effort by everyone involved to push the kids in front of them, which makes everyone better."

Wilcox also praised his assistant coach Griff Jones, volunteer Wayne Nelson and Keith Caron, the coach of the town youth program for the team's success.

It was a close tournament before Montville blew it open in the semifinal round.

The big race was for second place. Morgan (167) had two champions with Erik Delahanty (135) and Dave Iaquinto (145) to hold off St. Bernard (161) and Nonnewaug (156). Avon was fifth with 150½.

One of the pre-tournament favorites Stafford faded early and was seventh while three-time defending champion Derby was eighth and had a wrestler thrown out of the tournament for the second straight year.

Avon had a pair of champions with Seby Lara earning a 5-1 win at 103 and Ryan Walsh prevailing at 189 despite separating his shoulder midway through the match.

East Windsor's Jason Vermes (112) won his third straight Class S title despite being put to his back in the third period with a 16-5 win over Gilbert's Evan Vold, now 29-1.

Rocky Hill's Tony Nguyen (119) won his second straight Class S championship by pin. At 125, sophomore Joel Webster of Northwestern Regional beat Nonnewaug's Kostas Hatzikostas for the third time this season, 11-3.

At 130, New London's Ryan Murphy earned the tournament's outstanding wrestler award by avenging his only loss of the season. He beat top-seeded Rob Tolk of Avon, 11-7, thanks to four takedowns.

Bernie Cunningham, the lone wrestler for Tolland, won at 140, getting a key reversal with 14.2 seconds left in regulation to beat top-seeded Loxley Walters of Rocky Hill, 6-4. In a battle of 37-1 wrestlers, Iaquinto outlasted Montville's Bryan Howard, 3-2 in the
145 final

At 152, Montville's Daniel Murphy finished fourth last week at the ECC Tournament. On Saturday, he pinned No. 2 seed Conor Cominskey of Morgan in the semifinals in 53 seconds and pinned top-seeded Chris Marks of Northwestern Regional in 1:47.

Stafford's top-seeded Josh Veguilla had four pins to win at 160 while St. Bernard's top-seeded Lucas Roesler  (171) outlasted East Catholic senior Brian Johanns, 3-1. Johanns slipped past No. 2 seed Pete Okrasa in the semifinals, 2-1.

Rick LaGrega (215) made the home fans happy with his title while No. 6 seed Chris Sullivan of St. Bernard pinned Morgan's Matt Moran in the finals in 1:45 to win the title.

Everyone contributes to Montville's championship