Connecticut Wrestling Online
This page was last updated on: October 28, 2004
Contact us
e-mail me
Connecticut Sports Online
Copyright 2004, Collinsville Publishing Company
2004 Class L championships
2004 Class L
At Bristol Eastern
Team results  -- 1. Ledyard 211, 2. Rockville 148½, 3. Montville 133, 4. Fitch 117½, 5. Bristol Eastern 109, 6. Ridgefield 104, 7. Hartford Public 103, 8. Staples 91½, 9. Farmington 90, 10. Newington 84, 11. Platt and Guilford 82½, 13. Fermi 75, 14. Middletown 73½, 15. Maloney 69½, 16. Warren Harding 67½, 17. Conard 67, 18. Bunnell 62½, 19. Bristol Central 56½, 20. Hall 54½, 21. Branford 54, 22. Pomperaug 49, 23. Brien McMahon 41½, 24. Windsor 39½, 25. East Lyme 27, 26. East Haven 26½, 27. Weaver and Masuk 26, 29. Wilton 23. 30. Torrington and E.O. Smith 0
Individual results
Championship: Shawn McKenna, Pomperaug pin Corey Paulish, Ridgefield, 2:32; 3. Jose Negron, Rockville win by default over Chris Stiso, Fermi; 5. Tim Steamer, East Lyme dec. Alex Mallory, Montville, 4-2
Championship: T.J.Hepburn, Ledyard dec, Charles Isif, Fitch, 15-0; 3. Kevin Horan, Newington, dec. Brian Scavetta, Conard, 2-0; 5. Corey Zadrozny, Bristol Eastern default over Colin Early, East Haven
Championship: Luis Espinosa, Warren Harding dec. Henry Obelnicki, Hall, 10-1; 3. Kevin Leggett, Bunnell, dec. Will Heuschneider, Ledyard. 4-3; 5. Pat Ryan, Montville pin Justin Dess, Bristol Eastern, 1:48
Championship: Sloan Holzman, Staples, dec. Craig Ryan, Newington, 6-4; 3. Nicholas Wilson, Montville dec. Jim Lemieux, Rockville, 9-4; 5 Jesse Hurlburt, Branford dec. Jeffery Rowe, Ledyard, 12-3
Championship: Mike Fiorini, Bristol Central dec. Joey Bullard, Warren Harding, 20-4; 3. Xan Shapiro, Guilford dec. Matt Hancock, Farmington, 10-5; 5, Greg Panza, Branford dec. Chris Garcia, Hartford Public, 1:51
Championship: Jesus Cruz, Hartford Public dec. Andrew Sichel, Staples, 4-1; 3. Erik Davis, Ledyard dec. Matt Castelot, Branford, 3-2; 5. Matt Woodard, Farmington dec. Jonatha Wenderoth, Fitch, 3-2
Championship: Chris Lovell, Fermi dec. Mike Fieffer, Platt, 7-5; 3. Addison Freeman, Staples dec. Ed LaPointe, Rockville, 15-0; 5. Sam Molina, Masuk win by disqualification.
Championship: Jesse Wrubel, Conard, dec. Brandon Souto, Middletown, 14-4; 3. Hazel Evans, Weaver, dec. Justin Caisse, Fitch, 10-2; 5. Luke Gabordi, Ledyard dec. Tim Gardiner, Rockville, 7-3
Championship:  William Leischner, Fitch dec. Charlie Feliciano, Platt, 18-3; 3. Dan Strong, Bristol Eastern, dec. Daniel Fowler, Ledyard, 3-1; 5 Benjamin Radzunas, Maloney, Default, Kyle Nuland, Ridgefield
Championship:  Fielding Pagel, Fitch pin Jason Ray, Brien McMahon, 0:48; 3. Brandon Gunnels, Ledyard, dec. Alex Pender, Rockville, 5-0; 5. Chris Dryburgh, Fermi dec. Andrew Murphy, Ridgefield, 12-2
Championship:  Adam Collins, Ledyard dec. Christo Kerantzas, Newington, 12-1; 3. Eric Sellers, Ridgefield dec. John Curry, Platt, 9-1; 5. Michael Dell'Accio, Hall dec. Luis Gomez, Hartford Public, 4-1
Championship: Thomas Kruszewski, Montville dec. Brian Sanford, Hartford Public, 2-1; 3. Brendan Margelony, Rockville dec. Dan Lyons, Guilford, 10-3; 5. Al Blumenthal, Bristol Eastern dec. John Ragno, Fermi, 4-2
Championship: James Offredi, Guilford dec. Ibai Irazoqui, Rockville, 5-2; 3. Willie Brown, Maloney dec. Robert Schmitt, Ledyard, 6-2; 5. Colin Gordon, Ridgefield pin Scott Sedgwick, Bunnell, 0:45
Championship: Matthew Morgan, Montville dec. Jonathan Norwood, Middletown, 12-3; 3. Chris Rackliffe, Farmington dec. Nathan McNeese, Ledyard, 2-1; 5. Taurean Stoval, Hartford Public, Default over Willie Patterson, Windsor
Fast fall: Fielding Pagel (160), Fitch, 4 pins in 8:13
Outstanding wrestler: T.J. Hepburn, Ledyard

Connecticut Wrestling Online
BRISTOL, Feb. 21 --  The two teams that petitioned up to Class L stood among the leaders when it was complete. Ledyard captured a state-record 14th state championship with a dominant performance.

The Colonels routed Rockville, 211 to 148½. Montville, which won the Class S title a year ago and petitioned to compete in Class L from Class M this season, were a strong third with 133 points. Ledyard also petitioned up from Class M along with Middletown, which finished 14th.

Ledyard had 10 medalwinners and three individual champions  T.J. Hepburn (112), Billy Leischner (152) and Adam Collins (171). Eight Colonial wrestlers qualified for the State Open. Qualifying wrestlers for the Open was one of the reasons that Ledyard wanted to move up to Class L.

"I had a firm belief from the beginning of the season that we were capable of this," Ledyard coach Steve Bilheimer told the Norwich Bulletin. "I'm very happy." Montville, Ledyard and Middletown will have to compete again in Class L next year, regardless of what their enrollment may be.

Montville had two champions in Matthew Morgan (275) and Thomas Kruszewski (189). Nicholas Wilson (3rd at 125) was the only Montville wrestler to qualify for the Open.

Hepburn, an undefeated freshman improved to 38-0 with a 15-0 technical fall victory over Fitch's Charles Isif in the finals at 112 pounds. Hepburn took home the tournament's outstanding wrestler award for his win over Isif, who had won a pair of Class L titles at 103 pounds.

Pomperaug junior Shawn McKenna, out for most of the season with an injury, rolled to the 103 pound championship by pinning Ridgefield's Corey Paulish in 2:32. McKenna was 8-0 in dual meets and took third in the Southwest Conference meet before winning a state title.

Bristol Central's Mike Fiorini (130) rolled to a 20-4 decision over Harding's Joey Bullard in the finals while Conard's Jesse Wrubel (145) outlasted Middletown's Brandon Souto, 14-4.

Information from the New London Day, Norwich Bulletin and personal notes used to compile this report.

Moving up pays off for Ledyard