Connecticut Wrestling Online
This page was last updated on: October 28, 2004
Contact us
e-mail me
Connecticut Sports Online
Copyright 2004, Collinsville Publishing Company
2004 Class LL championships
Class LL
At Shelton
Team results -- 1. Danbury 239; 2. Glastonbury 175; 3. Amity 144½; 4. New Milford 141; 5. Fairfield 128.5; 6. Xavier 118½; 7. East Hartford 107½; 8. Southington 100; 9. Greenwich 95½; 10. Simsbury 93; 11. Bridgeport Central 91; 12. Trumbull 85½; 13. South Windsor 79; 14. NFA 72; 15. New Britain 66½, 16. Manchester 59; 17. Newtown 56; 18. Bulkeley 49; 19. Stamford and Westhill 35½; 21. Weston/Barlow 32; 22. Shelton 31; 23. Norwalk 28½; 24. Platt Tech/West Haven 27; 25. Cheshire 24½; 26. Fairfield Prep 23; 27. Hamden 4.

Individual results
Championship: Mike Silverstri (Danbury) dec. Doug Rohner (Manchester) 17-6; 3. Dan McIlrath (Newtown) dec. Greg Fontaine (Southington), 8-1; 5. Mike Cunningham (South Windsor) dec. John Morelli (Glastonbury), 16-1
Championship: Joseph Martin (Simsbury) won by injury default over Hector Garcia (New Britain); 3. Tim Holmes (East Hartford) dec. Will Sherman (New Milford), 10-5; 5. Willy Squarciafico (Xavier) dec. John Ritucci (Amity), 4-2, OT
Championship: Alfredo Fontana (Trumbull) dec. Matt Bloom (Xavier) 5-4, OT; 3. Joe Hall (New Milford) pin Sam Wade (Bridgeport Central),0:59; 5. Steve Cessario (East Hartford) dec. Kevin Hovey (Simsbury), 9-1
Championship: Dylan Tuz (New Milford) dec. Max Meisel (Weston/Barlow) 7-3; 3. Frank Cammisa (Danbury) dec. Donald Torrenti (Amity), 2-1; 5. Mark Roberts (New Britain) dec. Tyler LeBlanc (Norwalk), 6-4
Championship: Nick Weyer (Danbury) dec. Andrew Durand (East Hartford) 5-4; 3. Pete Stefanatos (New Milford) dec. Lou Cofrancesco (Amity), 12-5; 5. Chad Brookes (Glastonbury) dec. Marc Green (Simsbury), 4-1
Championship: Brandon Stavola (Amity) pin Jeff Paragone (Glastonbury) 3:17; 3. Spencer Hennis (Platt Tech/West Haven) dec. Chevon Schand (Manchester), 5-4; 5. Kyle Rodgers (Danbury) pin Mike Damiano (Greenwich), 4:59
Championship: Gordon Holden (Glastonbury) won by injury default over Chris Lee (Southington); 3. Josh Levene, Stamford dec. Charlie Price (Shelton), 6-0; 5. Jake Spencer (Amity) dec. Omar Graudiel (Fairfield), 13-2
Championship: Jeff Marra (Danbury) pin Doug Paragone (Glastonbury) 5:15; 3. Justin Toland (NFA) dec. Ismael Nieves (Bulkeley), 5-4; 5. Dave Spears (Bridgeport Central) def. Ryan Notti (Cheshire), default
Championship: Will Esposito (Danbury) dec. John Holzinger (Xavier) 8-2; 3. Andrew Holden (Glastonbury) dec. Zach Wagner (Fairfield), 6-2; 5. Jim Jachym (South Windsor) dec. Dan Bensch (Greenwich), 7-1
Championship: Andy Liseo (Southington) dec. Anthony Parrish (Fairfield) 3-2; 3. Bryant Reed (South Windsor) dec. Pat Knight (New Milford), 13-5; 5. O'Brien Hunter (Manchester) dec. Ben Bolt (Glastonbury), 7-5 OT
Championship: Matt Tricarico (Danbury) dec. Charles Cycon (Westhill) 11-3; 3. Ryan Lavelle (Fairfield) dec. Joel Jacques (South Windsor), 4-0; 5. Nick Murphy (NFA) dec. Matt Vernik (Amity), 8-5
Championship: Ferdi Cortinhas (Trumbull) dec. Nick Rankin (NFA) 10-5; 3. Chris Oghayore (Bridgeport Central) dec. Ed Breitling (Newtown), 12-11; 5. Tyler Metz (Danbury) dec. Yovanny Heneo (Greenwich), 7-1
Championship: Ross Massey (Glastonbury) dec. Brendan Herlihy (Fairfield) 3-2; 3. Chris Bepko (Xavier) dec. Chris Brown (East Hartford), 4-1; 5. Taurean Roundtree (Bridgeport Central) dec. Justin Pawlik (Simsbury), 4-3
Championship: Tim Ferreria (Danbury) dec. Juan Carrion (Bulkeley) 9-6; 3. Lou Bruni (Amity) pin Anell Montanez (Bridgeport Central), 4:41; 5. Mike Schacter (Greenwich) dec. Ben Clifford (Fairfield), 2-1
Outstanding wrestler: Brandon Stavola, Amity
Fast fall: Ed Breitling, Newtown, 4 pins in 6:02

Connecticut Wrestling Online
SHELTON, Feb. 21 -- Now Danbury stands alone.

The Hatters established a record that they share with no one as they won a record eighth straight Class LL championship with a 239-175 win over Glastonbury. No one has won more Class LL titles than Danbury has achieved.

Six Danbury wrestlers won state titles and seven qualified for the State Open. Mike Silvestri (103), Nick Weyer (130), Jeff Marra (145), Will Esposito (152), Matt Tricario (171) and Timmy Ferreira (275) each won titles.

"I don't know when this run is going to end," Danbury coach Ricky Shook told the Danbury News Times. "I just hope it doesn't end anytime soon. This is pretty special."

Tricario had an emotional win over Westhill's Charles Cycon, 11-3 in the finals. Cycon (37-1) rolled through the FCIAC Tournament a week ago when Tricario was out with a shoulder injury.

Amity's Brandon Stavola earned the tournament's outstanding wrestler honors by rolling through the tournament to win the 130-pound title. Stavola pinned Glastonbury's Jeff Paragone in 3:17 to win in his first title after three appearances in the final.

"I've been waiting for this since my freshman year," Stavola told the New Haven Register. "I wanted to keep the pressure on and run through the match."

Trumbull's Alfredo Fontana (119) beat Xavier's Matt Bloom in overtime to win a championship. Bloom was called for stalling twice in the final 10 seconds of the bout with the second call tying the bout at 4-4. In the second 30-second overtime, Fontana rode out Bloom to win by criteria. Fontana rallied from a 4-1 deficit.

Southington's top-seeded Andy Liseo (160) nipped Fairfield's Anthony Parrish, 3-2 for a championship while teammate Chris Lee (140) lost by injury default in his final's match with Glastonbury's Gordon Holden. Lee was injured and have to leave the gym by stretcher. At 215, Glastonbury's Ross Massey earned a one-point decision over Fairfield's Brendan Herlihy, 3-2 to win a championship.

Information from the Danbury News Times, New Haven Register and personal notes used in compiling this report.

Six champions for champion Danbury in Class LL