2011 Class L championship Complete brackets
Connecticut Wrestling Online
Since 2001, your source for high school wrestling news and scores
This page was last updated on: October 25, 2011
email me
Copyright 2011, Collinsville Publishing Company
Media coverage
Some stories may have moved to paid archives.

Danbury News Times, Feb. 20: New Milford brings home the gold medal with Class L crown

Hartford Courant, Feb. 20: Chase stands tall at Class L tourney

Bristol Press, Feb. 20: Chase leads Eastern to third place finish in Class L

2011 Class L Tournament
At Bristol Eastern
Team results – 1. New Milford, 216; 2. Daniel Hand, 214½; 3. Bristol Eastern,191; 4. Fairfield Warde, 175; 5. Middletown, 121; 6. Darien, 102;7. Guilford, 94½; 8. Avon, 93½; 9. Newington, 89½; 10. Masuk,84; 11. Bristol Central, 81; 12. Pomperaug, 80; 13. New Canaan,74½; 14. RHAM, 72½; 15. Farmington, 71½; 16. East Lyme, 64; 17.Wilton, 50; 18. Norwalk, 48½; 19. Fitch, 46½; 20. Wethersfield,43; 21. Maloney, 39½; 22. E.O. Smith, 35; 23. Torrington, 30; 24.Fairfield Ludlowe, 30; 25. Fermi, 26; 26. Bunnell, 24; 27.Windsor, 19; 28. Woodstock Academy, 7; 29. Notre Dame-West Haven, 6; 30. Naugatuck, 0.
Individual results
Championship: Conor Kirkegard, New Milford dec. William Crisco, Daniel Hand, 6-2; 3rd Place: Kareem Small, East Lyme pin Peyton Soucy, Bristol Eastern, 4:55; 5th Place: Tyler Mcdonald, Middletown dec. Eduard Krutyansky, Pomperaug, 4-3
Championship: Andrew Chase, Bristol Eastern dec. Alex Thalassinos, New Milford, 7-5; 3rd Place: Brian Amato, Newington dec. Noah Criscuolo, Guilford, 4-3; 5th Place: Andrew Carignan, Middletown pin Jonah Lewis, Daniel Hand, 2:38
Championship: Chris Catanzaro, RHAM dec. Josh Dess, Bristol Eastern, 3-1; 3rd Place: Tyler Monroe, New Milford dec. Garrett Hastings, Farmington, 3-1; 5th Place: Justin Elias, Daniel Hand dec. Gibrian Martinez, Bunnell, 11-5
Championship: Nick Amorando, New Milford pin Pharoah Eaton, Fairfield Warde, 2:39; 3rd Place: Hayden Joeckel, Bristol Eastern dec. Tucker Macgregor, Daniel Hand, 2-1; 5th Place: Will Gerardi, RHAM dec. Matt Natale, Farmington, 4-3
Championship: Edward Carroll, Daniel Hand pin Evan Fraser, Fairfield Warde, 5:39; 3rd Place: Andrew Golden, New Milford pin Braden Mcmanus, Newington, 2:59; 5th Place: Dimitri Chargares, Darien dec. Tyler Burrow, Bristol Central, 6-5
Championship: Jake Savoca, Daniel Hand dec. James Neamontis, Fairfield Warde, 9-1; 3rd Place: Craig Sassu, Bristol Eastern dec. Ian Curtis, New Milford, 9-3; 5th Place: Chris Kerr, Middletown pin Ryan Rigney, Farmington, 1:38
Championship: Lars Remole, Darien dec. Kyle Schilling, RHAM, 7-6; 3rd Place: Welles Sakmar, Daniel Hand dec. Kameron Bradshaw, New Milford, 10-6; 5th Place: James Gendler, Avon dec. Ray Laudato, Masuk, 4-2
Championship: Brian Khzouz, New Canaan dec. Anthony Terlizzi, New Milford, 11-8; 3rd Place: Cameron Gonzalez, Fitch pin Joshua Ross, East Lyme, 2:48; 5th Place: William Sheehy, Pomperaug dec. John Corcoran, Darien, 8-7
Championship: Timothy Proctor, Guilford dec. Chris Chorzepa, Newington, 12-11; 3rd Place: Kevin Wivell, Daniel Hand dec. Matt Marquis, Bristol Eastern, 5-3; 5th Place: Joe Murphy, Avon pin Jacob Kalleher, East Lyme, 2:37
Championship: Mike Sullivan, Fairfield Warde pin Ryan Pearson, Avon, 1:17; 3rd Place: Clay Helms, Wilton dec. Henry Aery, Guilford, 11-8; 5th Place: Malcolm Kiplinger, Darien dec. Keenan Owens, New Milford, 3-1
171; Championship: Devon Carillo, Middletown dec. Alex Delaney, Fairfield Warde, 8-1; 3rd Place: Alexander Cieply, Pomperaug dec. James Mcdunnah, Wethersfield, 9-8; 5th Place: Chris Dionne, Bristol Central dec. None, None, Default
Championship: Brandon Riggins, Norwalk dec. Dave St.Onge, Avon, 16-3; 3rd Place: Kyle Hoskins, Masuk dec. James Heinzman, Fairfield Warde, 3-1; 5th Place: Dylan Leeming, New Canaan pin Michael Cassin, Bristol Eastern, 0:52
Championship: Dean Tsopanides, Torrington pin Erick Tucker, Masuk, 4:42; 3rd Place: Matt Piazza, Bristol Eastern dec. Ian Jones, Pomperaug, Default; 5th Place: Kendal Torr-Brown, Fitch dec. Alex Sorvillo, E.O. Smith, Default
Championship: Joseph Demichelle, Daniel Hand dec. D.J. Sanderson, Bristol Central, 8-3; 3rd Place: Mark Thompkins, Middletown dec. N.Bonesteel, Windsor, 3-1; 5th Place: Mike Money, Fairfield Warde pin Franco Serrao, Wethersfield, 2:05
Outstanding wrestler: Eddie Carroll, Hand, 130
Fast fall: Mike Sullivan, Fairfield Warde (160), 4 pins in 5:01

CIAC seeds
Class L at Bristol Eastern

New Milford stands tall to win first state championship
Connecticut Wrestling Online
BRISTOL, Feb. 15 – Winning that elusive first state championship has been a challenge for the New Milford High wrestling team. In the last decade, the Green Wave have finished second in the CIAC state tournament four times. Four times, they have finished third.

But this was going to be New Milford’s championship year. The Green Wave went undefeated in the dual meet portion of the schedule (21-0) and spent most of the year as the No. 1 ranked team in the state.

What could get in their way? How about a disqualification? New Milford’s Karl Bradshaw (171) was disqualified in the semifinals when the referees ruled that he had bitten Fairfield Warde’s Alex Delaney. Not only was Bradshaw thrown out of the tournament, all 13 points he had earned vanished along with any opportunity to earn points in the consolation round.

But Bradshaw’s teammates had his back. Seven wrestlers finished in the top four of their respective weight classes to lift New Milford to a 1½ point victory over Hand, 216 to 214½ and give the Green Wave their first state championship.

Conor Kirkegard (103) and Nick Amorando (125) each won their second straight Class L title. Alex Thalassinos (112) and Anthony Terlizzi (145) each took second while Tyler Monroe (119) and Andrew Golden (130) finished third. Ian Curtis (135) was fourth.

New Milford and Hand each had four wrestlers in the finals. Edward Carroll (130), Jake Savoca (135) and Joseph DeMichelle (275) won titles for the Tigers. But the difference was a 6-2 win by the undefeated Kirkegard (38-0) over Hand’s William Crisco, 6-2 and a championship win from Amorando that clinched the title for New Milford.

"It's an amazing feeling. Wrestling's a labor of love. These guys, they worked hard and we saw it through. I'm just lucky to be a part of it," New Milford coach Chris Piel told the Danbury News Times. Bradshaw was the No. 2 seed and the DQ ended his career. "With Karl's character -- he would never do something of that manner. I think it was an incidental situation, and unfortunately he paid the ultimate price,” Piel told the News-Times.

* * * *

Carroll won his second straight Class L title along with Middletown’s Devon Carrillo (171), who remained undefeated (28-0). Carroll was named the tournament’s outstanding wrestler.

Torrington’s first-ever state champion in wrestling, Dean Tsopanides (215, 33-1) has won by pin in six of his last seven bouts, including a pin in 4:42 in the Class L final over Masuk’s Erick Tucker.