2015 Class LL championships                            Complete brackets
Connecticut Wrestling Online
Since 2001, your source for high school wrestling news and scores
This page was last updated on: November 6, 2015
email me
Copyright 2015, Collinsville Publishing Company
CIAC seeds
2015 Class LL

Media coverage
Some stories may have moved to paid archives.

Danbury News Times, Feb. 21: It's no surprise as Newtown wins second straight Class LL title

New Haven Register, Feb. 21: Xavier finishes third in Class LL

Meriden Record Journal, Feb. 21: Southington's Zack Murillo wins Class LL title at 106

Hartford Courant, Feb. 21: Simsbury's Fernandes looks sharp in winning a Class LL title

2015 Class LL championships
At Trumbull
Team results -- 1. Newtown 282½; 2. Danbury 231; 3. Simsbury 189; 3. Xavier 189; 5. Trumbull 183; 6. Norwich Free Academy 121; 7. Southington 113; 8. Manchester 87; 9. Ridgefield 70; 10. New Britain 69; 11. Glastonbury 65½; 12. Platt Tech/West Haven 59; 13. Shelton 55; 14. Westhill 54½; 15. Greenwich 54; 16. Staples 45; 17. Stamford 37½; 18. East Hartford 36; 19. Fairfield Prep 33; 20. Norwalk 30½; 21. Amity 30; 22. New Haven 27½; 23. Cheshire 17; 24. Brien McMahon 9; 25. Bridgeport Central 0
Individual results
Championship: Zachary Murillo, Southington dec. Jakob Camacho, Danbury, 3-2; 3rd: Tristan Haviland, Trumbull pin Joshua Jones, Glastonbury, 0:38; 5th: Willie Gamberdella, Platt Tech/West Have def. Chandler Duhaime, Shelton, Injury default
Championship: Luca Crudo, Newtown dec. Matt Foster, Norwich Free Academy, 5-0; 3rd: Patrick Moynihan, Xavier pin Brandon Aguda, Greenwich, 3:55; 5th: Christopher Sam, Danbury dec. Jakob Cala, Amity, 3-2
Championship: Matthew Conte, Westhill dec. Joseph Hulse, Danbury, 8-1; 3rd: Austin Abacherli, Southington dec. Luke Schwartz, Norwalk, 11-2; 5th: Michael Mirmina, Trumbull dec. Brandon Edwards, Manchester, 5-0
Championship: Jeremy Fields, Danbury dec. Edward Lovely, Newtown, 7-4; 3rd: Dante Montanaro, Trumbull dec. Jake Holland, Xavier, 4-2; 5th: Anthony Sojka, Platt Tech/West Have dec. Quinden Bourgeois, East Hartford, 12-1
Championship: Cross Cannone, Trumbull dec. Zachary Bylykbashi, Southington, 10-0; 3rd: Matt Gonzalez, Newtown dec. Justin Peterson, Danbury, 3-1; 5th: Colin Storm, Ridgefield pin Thomas Fredericks, Xavier, 3:26
Championship: James Leuci, Newtown dec. Keith Penney, Simsbury, 7-2; 3rd: Kevin Side, Ridgefield dec. Justin Ludel, Staples, 9-6; 5th: Steven Rost, Glastonbury dec. Patrick Precourt, Xavier, 10-3
Championship: Keith Fernandes, Simsbury dec. Alexander Stavola, Newtown, 7-0; 3rd: Will Mills, Danbury dec. Jack Levine, Xavier, 5-3; 5th: Mohammed Abdul-Hakeem, Stamford dec. Michael Ceci, Greenwich, 4-3
Championship: Joe Accousti, Newtown dec. Adam Angelucci, Trumbull, 5-3; 3rd: Tyler Kenney, Xavier dec. Ryan Juliano, Simsbury, 4-3; 5th: Ethan Ross, Greenwich dec. Daniel Persson, Shelton, 6-0
Championship: Stephen Briganti, Trumbull dec. Thomas Reardon, Glastonbury, 6-0; 3rd: Tony Hong, Norwich Free Academy pin Connor Lemay, Newtown, 3:31; 5th: Payton Lawler, Xavier pin Tyler Hamilton, Ridgefield, 3:00
Championship: Anthony Falbo, Newtown dec. Seve Burgos, Xavier, 24-9; 3rd: Sean Penney, Simsbury dec. Joseph Ryan, Trumbull, 1-0; 5th: Matthew Adam, Danbury dec. Kenneth Seaton, Amity, 5-2
Championship: Juan Garcia, Danbury dec. Josh Graves, New Britain, 9-4; 3rd: Logan Walsh, Newtown pin Demetrius Mariani, East Hartford, 1:58; 5th: John Daguerre-Bradford, Simsbury dec. Patrick Mahoney-Balestracci, Norwich Free Academy, 3-0
Championship: Jacob Feldman, Simsbury dec. Andy Hubina, Newtown, 6-5; 3rd: Jordan Fletcher, Manchester dec. Eric Lydiksen, Platt Tech/West Have, 7-1; 5th: Eric Henry, Danbury dec. Joe Cambereri, Xavier, 7-3
220; Championship: Khaleed Exum-Strong, Norwich Free Academy dec. James Demaio, Simsbury, 7-2; 3rd: Alex Swaby, New Britain dec. Thomas Long, Newtown, 3-2; 5th: Edward Fountain, Manchester dec. Tyler Sullivan, Platt Tech/West Haven , 7-0
Championship: Chidiebere Broderick, Xavier pin Lukas Stone, Simsbury, 5:44; 3rd: Luis Laboy, New Britain dec. Michael Gaboardi, Danbury, 3-2; 5th: Richard Crooks, Norwich Free Academy dec. Gabriel Stiles, New Haven, Forfeit
Outstanding wrestler: Anthony Falbo, Newtown (170)
Newtown takes command in Class LL
With seven wrestlers in the finals and four individual champions – Luca Crudo (113), James Leuci (138), Joe Accousti (152) and outstanding wrestler Anthony Falbo (170) – Newtown dominated the Class LL tournament, beating Danbury by more than 50 points. The Nighthawks won their sixth tournament of the season. “This is a great tournament team. They really function as a group,” Newtown head coach Chris Bray told the News Times. … Danbury’s Johnny Garcia won his third Class LL title at 182. … Simsbury and Xavier tied for third place. …